Home      FAQ      Forum      Idea Exchange      Ask a Question      My Stuff      Help   
  
Warning for closing a tab before record has been saved
I've had a request from a customer that it would be helpful if the browser detected edited content that hadn't been saved if the tab/window was accidentally closed.

Just like this screen does when I've not submitted my comment.

See attached image for reference


ID
755
Category
User Experience
Author

basenine
Date Created
8/6/2014 11:39:56 PM
Date Updated
2/18/2015 9:51:55 AM
Status
Implemented
Score
40
Promoted By
martin oliverScott MillerRick Cogley
basenine
Comments
basenine 8/12/2014 6:42:53 PM
I seriously thought this might get a bit more traction - is there another way that I've missed?

Back button perhaps?
basenine 1/20/2015 6:04:00 PM
Is there any news on whether this could be implemented?
😃

Kirill Bondar  Staff  2/10/2015 7:08:51 AM

basenine 2/11/2015 7:11:26 AM
Hello Kirill,

I just tested this out and it didn't work. There was already text in the field, I just added to it and pressed "Cancel"...it cancelled without warning or saving. Then I did the same test with closing the window...the window closed
basenine 2/11/2015 7:13:52 AM
Have tried on new records too...same result
Kirill Bondar  Staff  2/11/2015 7:14:39 AM
First of all, it works for "normal" forms, not for inline editing.
Second, you have to make some change to the record before it warns.
basenine 2/11/2015 7:22:00 AM
yes - I did both of those...in regular forms
I added to existing text and also created a new record and added text/number.

No luck
Kirill Bondar  Staff  2/11/2015 8:15:35 AM
iOS? Or what browser?
basenine 2/11/2015 2:44:00 PM
Mac OS X Yosemite, Safari (latest v)
Kirill Bondar  Staff  2/12/2015 7:52:52 AM
On 10.9.4 works like a charm. Will install Yosemite.
Kirill Bondar  Staff  2/12/2015 8:38:40 AM
Indeed does not work on Yosemite -- as well as on iOS - we'll search for the workaround
basenine 2/13/2015 2:39:06 AM
Hello Kirill,

I had "Are you sure you want to leave this page?. Some data *were* changed. Proceed without Saving?"

Then an option to "Stay on Page" or Leave Page"

I had this once yesterday whilst editing a record then pressing the Setup wheel next to a column. When I tried to close the whole Tab, it closed without the warning. Then I didn't receive the warning again for the rest of the day.

Today, when I tried doing the same, I got the warning - both on hitting the Setup wheel and when closing the whole Tab...So I'm guessing you've sorted it.

BTW - In the warning, *were* needs to be changed to "was".
i.e Some data *was* changed. 😃

Kirill Bondar  Staff  2/18/2015 9:51:55 AM
Weird as it is indeed now working... Will keep an eye on it.
Feedback
 
Back to Search Results